logo

Emocracy

A new social contract


In these times of populist challenges, fundamental social questions are revised. How do we want to live together in the future? Is there a ‘we’ for our neoliberal, individualistic fates? What can we still agree upon? Do we need a new social contract? Is it only the others that are populist or do populist desires slumber in ‘us’, waiting to be awakened?

In Emocracy, the audience can feed its feelings, desires and convictions directly into the gameplay. Two performers develop a panorama of lifestyle possibilities and scenes of everyday precariousness. The audience can react in real time, directing and assessing the narratives through voting and direct action. What resonates with me? What aggravates me? What repels me? What am I swept along with? By interacting with everyone present, a different emotional/political micro society is created every night. Rage, wit and love count just as much as a good argument.

Emocracy is part of the project “A New Social Contract — Theatre Performances in Germany, Russia and the Ukraine”, a collaboration with Centrum Text (Ukraine) and teatr.doc (Russia). In each of the three countries, each group develops a piece that raises the question of the social contract in the respective society, searching for answers together with the audience.

More information here.


Galery



Video



Press


“The pointedly sarcastic anecdotes from the educated milieu, declaimed in a nutshell by the performer duo (Bettina Grahs, Lajos Talamonti), begin with trivial occurrences and gradually reveal the moral pitfalls of a politically correct mainstream.”

(https://www.goethe.de/de/uun/akt/21087403.html)



Credits


Concept Interrobang By and with Bettina Grahs, Lisa Großmann, Till Müller-Klug, Lajos Talamonti, Nina Tecklenburg Set Design and Costume Sandra Fox Interactive Visualisation Georg Werner Video Programming Hannes Breul, Florian Fischer Lighting Design / Technical Director Dirk Lutz Production ehrliche arbeit – freies Kulturbüro Intern Talia Kracauer, Manuela Lachmann PR Tina Ebert Photos Michael Bennett, creative common Photo design Sandra Fox, Florian Müller-Klug

A cooperation between Goethe-Institut Ukraine and Interrobang, supported by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. In co-production with SOPHIENSAELE. In exchange with Theatr.doc (Moscow) and Zentrum “Tekst” (Kiev).


Dates


Sophiensaele Berlin
PREMIERE: 11. October 2017
further shows: 13. and 14. October 2017

Ivan Franko National Academic Drama Theatre Kiev
24th of November 2018
Festival „New Social Contract 2018“
Goethe-Institut Kiew

an den Anfang der Seite

logo

Emocracy

Ein neuer Gesellschaftsvertrag

 

Credit: Creative Common

Angesichts gegenwärtiger populistischer Herausforderungen stellen sich gesellschaftliche Grundfragen neu: Wie wollen wir in Zukunft zusammenleben? Gibt es dieses „Wir“ in Zeiten neoliberaler Einzelschicksale überhaupt noch? Worauf können wir uns noch einigen? Braucht es einen neuen Gesellschaftsvertrag? Sind immer nur die anderen Populisten, oder schlummern auch in „uns“ populistische Sehnsüchte, die nur darauf warten geweckt zu werden?

In Emocracy kann das Publikum seine Gefühle, Wünsche und Überzeugungen direkt in das Spielgeschehen einspeisen. Zwei Performer entwerfen ein Panorama von Lebensmöglichkeiten und prekären Alltagsszenen. Das Publikum kann in Echtzeit darauf reagieren und mit Abstimmungen und Aktionen die Erzählungen lenken und bewerten: Was spricht mich an, was regt mich auf, was stößt mich ab, was nimmt mich mit? Im Zusammenspiel aller Anwesenden entsteht jeden Abend eine neue gefühlspolitische Mikrogesellschaft. Wut, Witz und Liebe zählen mindestens genauso viel wie ein gutes Argument.

Emocracy ist ein Teil des Projektes „Ein neuer Gesellschaftsvertrag – Theaterperfomances in Deutschland, Russland und der Ukraine“, für das es mit Centrum Text (Ukraine), und teatr.doc (Russland) kooperiert. In den drei Ländern entwickelt jede Gruppe ein Stück, das die Frage nach dem Gesellschaftsvertrag in der jeweiligen Gesellschaft stellt und gemeinsam mit den Zuschauern nach Antworten sucht.



Termine



Sophiensaele Berlin
Premiere: 11. Oktober 2017
weitere Vorstellungen: 13., 14. Oktober 2017


Credits



Konzept Till Müller-Klug, Lajos Talamonti, Nina Tecklenburg Performance Bettina Grahs, Lajos Talamonti Dramaturgie Lisa Großmann Bühne / Kostüm Sandra Fox Interaktive Visualisierung Georg Werner Videoprogrammierung Florian Fischer Lichtdesign / Technische Leitung Dirk Lutz Produktion ehrliche arbeit – freies Kulturbüro Hospitanz Talia Kracauer Öffentlichkeitsarbeit Tina Ebert Foto creative common.

Ein gemeinsames Projekt des Goethe-Instituts Ukraine und Interrobang mit Unterstützung des Auswärtigen Amts. In Koproduktion mit SOPHIENSAELE.

an den Anfang der Seite